Family

There are so many things in life that you can’t count on but I know that I can always count on my family. We have been through so much. We have been through abuse, separation, heartache, loss… but we have also been through so many good things together, weddings, births, and many “firsts.” We have always been close, myself and my four siblings and our mother. Even as we have grown we have stayed close, our significant others blending in so perfectly, honestly I couldn’t ask for anything more than what we have. We love each other so deeply and so unconditionally; it is truly perfect. We haven’t always been nice to each other or had perfect relationships but we have always worked through everything we have said, done, etc.

We have always been “weird.” My friends would be so amazed that we were all so close, that we liked our mom, not just loved but had a real friendship instead of just a child/parent relationship and it always made me so happy. I could never imagine not loving my siblings in the way that I love them. I wasn’t always nice (especially to my youngest siblings), I went through a very hard time during my high school years and I was awful with coping and I definitely wasn’t pleasant when it came to them all the time… but I have sincerely apologized for those times and we have made up and mended broken pieces over time.

Today we spent the day together (all of us except my husband, as he had to work) and it’s just like whenever we are all together it’s just perfect. We eat, talk, play, laugh, cry (seriously) and it’s great. It’s like we haven’t been apart even if it’s been a month or more. We just flow back into our places like we always do. I guess this post is just about how incredibly grateful I am for the family I’ve been given. I wouldn’t trade them for anything in the world and love them so, so much.

Leave a Reply

