Live on.

I lost my life in the bottom of a tin can…
It used to be full of magic; written words
and playful smoke in the distance until
I found myself laying face down on the ground
consumed with something that never had a name.
I lost my life in the palms of your hands…
Those finger tips that I used to long for grasping
for the skin that laid so fragile and desolate
on my body; soaking up whatever would come it’s way.
I lost my life to the ocean…
I thought maybe the water could drown out
the thoughts and voices that screamed;
ripping out my own voice in between each syllable
until I found myself choking on salt water, laying on
the shore with nothing more than the words I once
had stained onto my wrist…

Live on.

Leave a Reply

