I was always afraid to fly. You made me fear open spaces and green paths; so used to walking on broken bottles and their metal caps… I watched myself fade away through cracked mirrors and foggy windshields as he whispered in my ear “don’t forget your worthlessness, little girl.” I threw myself to the ground with razor blades and song lyrics that became engraved into my skin; may they save me, teach me something, show me a path to love… You, you were unbound. Free and beautiful; ready to take me into your unstained wings. I let you embrace me for a short while before pushing you away; you always stayed, keeping your body right on the other side of the couch while I tentatively picked at my broken skin and full hair. How do you love me?

Leave a Reply

