Expectations

I am firm where I stand.
I try to ignore the whispers
and the screams of others
as I walk ever so gently
through a new path of life.
Following only my heart
and the feet that have
done nothing but lead me
in the right direction.
Some say, you are too young,
it is going to be too hard,
you should have waited.
But I walk away with a smile
knowing that inside I have
what it takes. My heart has
been discouraged so many times
before by family, friends, and
my own father – all of which were wrong.
So I walk on my own (or with
those of whom chose to stay close)
and continue to smile for the
beautiful creation that will come…

Leave a Reply

