I fell in love…

I fell in love with a man

who spilled words from his

lips that he did not understand.

I gave him my heart, my soul, 

and even my body though

I was unprepared and unsure.

I fell in love with a man

who is afraid of the word

“family”; a man who tries

so hard to make things happen

but doesn’t understand the meaning.

I fell in love with a man whose anger 

is let out in fierce ways; overspilling

and corrupting a heart that only wanted… 

Love.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I fell in love with the ocean;

angered it crashed against me

with all of its pressure until I, like

the rocks around me, was torn apart.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I fell in love with the blade;

saddened and hurt, it swiped across

my wrist until I, like so many before me

bled to death.

Leave a Reply

