Another Rough Night…

We decided last minute that we would kind of give the “gentle sleep training” method a go.. I nursed Aubrey and put her in her room with the baby gate up saying, you can play or go to bed. She was fine to play for a while but then she wanted more milk. I said, you can have more milk in the morning and she was okay the first time… After that she screamed and cried to come out. I laid on the floor holding her hand for what seemed like forever. I don’t know how parents let their babies CIO. I mean, I was comforting her the whole time, validating her feelings, letting her know I loved her but that she couldn’t come out and had to go to sleep and it was like torture for me and my husband. I honestly am not sure what else to do though because I can’t nurse her ALL NIGHT and I can’t drive her to sleep every night either. We did the same thing tonight and currently I am sitting in the hallway by her room with music playing and typing this out. She cries and she asks to come out… It’s so miserable. Sometimes she stops and looks like she’s going to pass out but then she just starts crying again. I don’t know if this is the right thing for us or what but I’m at a loss as of what I should do if not this.

I have been trying REALLY hard to wear her out throughout the day. Yesterday we were at the pool from 1:15p.m. to 5:30p.m.! Today we were at the pool from 4p.m. until 6:30p.m… We also did grocery shopping today and a bunch of stuff in the kitchen. I want to be as gentle with her as a possibly can and this is so hard. I never thought I’d have a baby who didn’t like sleeping… 😦

P.S. I just want to note that Aubrey is 28 months old. She is not a baby who doesn’t understand what sleep is or anything like that.. She is fully aware that we are doing all of this so that she can sleep in her bed and so mommy can sleep too.

Leave a Reply

